Pin on Pinterest
Gail and Robert Thomas

2018 Awards for Excellence in Community Service co-chairs Laurie and Phil Evans welcomed sixty sponsors, award recipients and Dallas Historical Society board members to a reception held in their honor on Thursday, October 17 at the home of Nancy Cain Marcus.


Attendees arrived and mingled as they enjoyed cocktails and light hors d’oeuvres. Midway through the reception, Mary Suhm, chairman of the Dallas Historical Society board of trustees, gathered the crowd for brief remarks.  Suhm welcomed everyone and thanked all in attendance for their support of the 37thAwards for Excellence in Community Service, including presenting sponsor, Pegasus Bank and its president Joe Goyne, who was in attendance.  She also thanked Nancy Cain Marcus for opening her home for the evening’s festivities.


Co-chairs Laurie and Phil Evans followed, adding their gratitude to this year’s sponsors and supporters, including honorary chairs Marnie and Kern Wildenthal.  They then recognized the honorees of the 2018 Awards for Excellence, which are  bestowed on selected recipients who have demonstrated generosity of spirit, civic leadership, and ability to encourage community-wide participation in a particular phase of the growth of the city.  This year’s honorees are:Arts Leadership- Zenetta S. Drew; Business- Katherine Wagner; Creative Arts- Liz Mikel; Education/Administration– Yasmin Bhatia;Education Advocate– The Links, Incorporated (The Dallas Chapter); Health/Science– Jonathan C. Cohen, Ph.D. and Helen H. Hobbs, M.D.; History– Dian Malouf; Humanities– The Dallas Institute’s Cowan Center for Education; Philanthropy– Betty Regard; Sports Leadership– Nancy Lieberman; Volunteer Community Leadership– Regen Horchow Fearon; and Jubilee History Maker– Tom Dunning.


The co-chairs closed by encouraging everyone to attend the Awards for Excellence in Community Service luncheon on November 1.


2018 Awards for Excellence in Community Servicesponsors are:  Presenting Sponsor (25,000)- Pegasus Bank; Platinum History Maker ($10,000)– Diane and Hal Brierley; Peggy Dear; Lyda Hill; Stephanie and Hunter Hunt; The Eugene McDermott Foundation; Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger; and Marnie and Kern Wildenthal/Adele and Hobson Wildenthal; Gold History Maker ($5,000)– BaylorScott&White Health; Sally and Tom Dunning; Mercado 369; The David B. Miller Family Foundation; Oncor Electric Delivery; Margot and Ross Perot; Betty S. Regard; Peggy and Leonard Riggs; Diane and John Scovell/Pat and Pete Schenkel; Mary and Mike Terry; Stacey and Reid Walker Family Trust;  Silver History Maker ($2,500)- Allie Beth Allman & Associates - ABA Management, LLC; Shannon Callewart and Elizabeth Helfrich; Judy and Jamey Clement; The Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture; Dallas Women's Foundation; The Eiseman Families; Laurie and Phil Evans; Cathy and William Helmbrecht, III; The Horchow Family; The Men and Women of Hunt Consolidated, Inc.; Mary Jalonick; Veletta and John Lill; Locke Lord LLP; Dian Malouf; Nancy Cain Marcus; The Meadows Foundation;Alice and Erle Nye; Vin and Caren Prothro Foundation;  JoAnne and Tony Roosevelt; Deedie Rose; Kit and Kemp Sawers; Margaret and Glenn Solomon;  Southwestern Medical Foundation/UT Southwestern Medical; Michelle and Stewart Thomas/Gail and Bob Thomas/Tori and Joe Mannes; and TIAA Bank; and digital media sponsor - MySweetCharity.


Patron party reception attendees included:  Host Nancy Cain Marcus; co-chairs Laurie and Phil Evans; Mary Suhm, chairman, Dallas Historical Society Board of Trustees; Cathy and past board chair Bill Helmbrecht; Jo and Joe Goyne, Pegasus Bank; Awards for Excellence coordinator Louise Caldwell; Awards for Excellence recipient selection coordinator Caro Stalcup; Dallas Historical Society executive director Karl Chiao and Amy Vanderoef; Linda Perryman Evans; honoree Tom Dunning; Kit Sawers; Shannon Callewart; Mona and Bill Graue; honoree Betty Regard; Cheryl and Steve Coke; honoree Dian Malouf; Stewart Thomas; honorees Jonathan C. Cohen, Ph.D. and Helen H. Hobbs, M.D; Gail and Robert Thomas; honoree Yasmin Bhatia; Betsy and Richard Eiseman; honoree Zenetta Drew; honoree Nancy Lieberman; Nathan Crow; Claudia MacMillan, executive director of the Louise and Donald Cowan Center of the Dallas Institute for the Humanities, an award recipient; Carol Montgomery; and honoree Jocelyn Kidd.


For more information about the AFE luncheon or the Dallas Historical Society, visit


About the Dallas Historical Society

The Dallas Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of Dallas and Texas history. Offering free education programming, lectures, historic city tours, museum exhibitions, and other special events, this organization strives to be the preeminent resource for exploring, and instilling appreciation for the diverse history of Dallas and Texas. We endeavor to encourage historical inquiry and maintain the importance and relevance of history today. Our collection of archival material- including historic photographs, diaries, journals, papers, periodicals, maps, and books- is available to researchers. Formed in 1922, the Dallas Historical Society is the oldest organization in Dallas County committed to preserving the history of the region, and presenting it to the public in innovative and informative ways.  For more information, visit

Recognize 16439 Views