Pin on Pinterest
Zenetta Drew and Katherine Wagner, BCA chief executive officer

Business Council for the Arts (BCA) hosted an evening reception on Wednesday, October 17 celebrating the 2018 Obelisk Awardshonorees, nominators and host committee members. 


Obelisk Awards luncheon co-chairs Victoria and Hunter McGrath were joined by nearly 70 attendees at the Thompson & Knight offices in One Arts Plaza. Upon arrival patrons mingled and enjoyed cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and music by guitarist Sam Swank.  On view was this year’s Obelisk award, which was designed and created by noted glass artist Polly Gessell, and will be presented to each recipient at the Obelisk Awards luncheon on November 16.


Mid-way through the evening Rick del Monte, Board Chairman of BCA, welcomed all in attendance and thanked them for their support of the 30thannual Obelisk Awards, which are bestowed upon companies and leaders in business and the arts for their invaluable contributions supporting arts and culture in North Texas.  She also recognized honorary chairs Nancy Nasher and David Haemisegger, as well as co-chairs Victoria and Hunter McGrath for their support of this year’s milestone event.


The co-chairs then followed by adding their gratitude to all and then announcing this year’s award recipients as well as the individuals and organizations that had nominated them, including: 


  • Business Champion for the Arts Award

Recipient:Craig Hall

Nominated by: Dallas Arts District


  • Arts Education Award 

Recipient: Cigna

Nominated by:  Chamberlain Performing Arts


  • Arts Partnership Award/LargeBusiness(more than 500 employees locally) 


Nominated by:  Children’s Chorus of Greater Dallas


  • Arts Partnership Award/SmallBusiness(fewer than 50 employees locally)

Recipient: Selig Polyscope Company

Nominated by: Dallas Video Fest


  • New Initiatives Award 

Recipient:The Shops at Willow Bend

Nominated by: North Texas Performing Arts


  • Juror’s Award

Recipients: Anne and Steve Stodghill

Nominated by: Dallas Film Society


  • The Outstanding Leadership Arts Alumnus Award 

Recipient: Angie Parra

Nominated by: Junior Players


  • Distinguished Cultural Organization Award

Recipient:Thanks-Giving Foundation

Nominated by:Almas Muscatwalla



  • Visionary Nonprofit Arts Leader Award

Recipient: Teresa Coleman Wash

Nominated by: Bishop Arts Theatre Center  


The McGraths closed by reminding everyone about the upcoming Obelisk Awards luncheon on Friday, November 16, 2018 at the Belo Mansion, which includes a reception, seated lunch and recognition of the 2018 award recipients.   


Recognize 10780 Views