Pin on Pinterest
2018 Obelisk Awards Luncheon co-chairs Hunter McGrath and Victoria McGrath

Business Council for the Arts (BCA) has opened nominations for the 2018 Obelisk Awards, which recognize companies and leaders in business and the arts for their invaluable contributions supporting arts and culture in North Texas. The deadline for nominations is Wednesday, May 2, 2018. 

The award recipients will be honored at the 30th annual Obelisk Awards luncheon, which will be held on Friday, November 16, 2018 at the Belo Mansion in Downtown Dallas.  Victoria and Hunter McGrath will serve as the  2018 Obelisk Awards co-chairs, with Nancy Nasher and David Haemisegger servings as honorary chairs. 

“When we reflect on Obelisk Award honorees of the last three decades, collectively they provide a rich history of the corporate art patronage that has made Dallas-Fort Worth one of the most vibrant cultural centers in the nation. During our 30th anniversary year, we are proud to continue our tradition of celebrating businesses and individuals who are advancing the arts today,” said Rick Del Monte, chair, Business Council for the Arts board of directors.  

Nominations for the Obelisk Awards may be made by any individuals, organizations, businesses or groups. Award categories include:

  • For Businesses:
    • The New Initiatives Award recognizes businesses for supporting an innovative arts/cultural program created within the past three years. Awards are given to one large, medium and small business each.
    • The Arts Partnerships Award recognizes businesses that have provided sustained support to an arts/cultural organization for three or more years. Awards are given to one large, medium and small business each. A business may only win the Arts Partnership Award once every two years.
    • The Arts Education Award recognizes one outstanding business for its support of arts education programs.
  • For Individual Business Leaders:
    • The Business Champion for the Arts Award recognizes long-term leadership and commitment to arts/culture by a business executive (president, CEO, partner).
    • The Outstanding Leadership Arts Alumnus Award recognizes outstanding board leadership and commitment by a graduate of the Leadership Arts Institute.
  • For Individual Arts/Cultural Leaders:
    • The Visionary Nonprofit Arts Leader Award recognizes an arts leader who has consistently demonstrated vision, impact, innovation, and successful alignment with business and community partners throughout their tenure.
  • For Nonprofit Arts/Cultural Organizations:
    • The Distinguished Cultural Organization Award is given by Neiman Marcus to recognize one outstanding nonprofit organization for a project or program that has enhanced the community through partnership with a business.

To submit a nomination for the 2018 Obelisk Awards visit  For more information about the Obelisk Awards, view or contact Catherine Thompson, 972-991-8300, extension 601.


About Business Council for the Arts

For 30 years, Business Council for the Arts (BCA), a non-profit organization, has created strong business/arts partnerships that build world-class communities where people want to live, work and grow in North Texas. Since its inception, Business Council for the Arts has advocated for business support of the arts, developed business leaders for nonprofit boards of directors through its Leadership Arts Institute; fostered employee creativity, engagement and creativity through the arts with On My Own Time, a signature program; guided strategic business support for the arts; and measured the economic impact of arts and culture in North Texas. For more information, visit

Recognize 3878 Views