Pin on Pinterest
Awards for Excellence for Arts Leadership recipients Ann and Gabriel Barbier-Mueller

The Trustees of the Dallas Historical Society have announced the 2017 Awards for Excellence (AFE) in Community Service.  This honor is bestowed on selected recipients who have demonstrated generosity of spirit, civic leadership, and ability to encourage community-wide participation in a particular phase of the growth of the city. The recipients will be honored at the 36th AFE luncheon on Thursday, November 9, 2017 from 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. at the Fairmont Dallas. 

Former award recipients JoAnne and Tony Roosevelt will serve as 2017 honorary co-chairs. With their generous gifts to the community of time and resources, the Roosevelts have provided volunteer leadership to numerous educational and charitable organizations, including co-chairing the Texas Chapter of the Theodore Roosevelt Association's annual Dallas Police Award luncheon since 1996.  Carol Montgomery and Kaysie Montgomery are the 2017 event co-chairs, with Louise Caldwell as advisor/coordinator. 

“The Dallas Historical Society proudly announces our 2017 Awards for Excellence recipients.  Each has made significant contributions to the history of our city, and we are honored to recognize them for their commitment and generosity to the Dallas community,” said William C. Helmbrecht III, chairman, Dallas Historical Society Board of Directors.


2017 Awards for Excellence recipients:

Arts Leadership – Ann and Gabriel Barbier-Mueller

This award is given to that individual(s) who has enriched the cultural life of Dallas as planner, organizer, fundraiser, collector or art historian. 

Creative Arts – Carolyn Brown

This award is given to that individual whose prominence as a practitioner of the fine arts as artisan, architect, writer, composer, producer or performer has enriched the cultural environment of Dallas.

Education – B. Hobson Wildenthal, Ph D.

This award is given to that individual who has made an exceptional contribution to the field of education as a teacher, administrator or benefactor. 

History – Willis Cecil Winters

This award is given to that individual who has researched and chronicled aspects of the history of Dallas and Texas as a historian, journalist, researcher, folklorist or author.

Humanities – Nicole Ginsburg Small

This award is given to that individual whose active sense of civic duty has provided leadership in achieving specific community goals.

Health/Science – Steven M. Pounders, MD

This award is given to that individual who has made an outstanding contribution through prominence or public service in medicine, scientific research, the behavioral sciences or public health.

Philanthropy – Jorge Baldor

This award is given to that individual whose vision and personal generosity has greatly benefited this city.

Sports Leadership – Tony Dorsett

This award is given to that individual who has brought distinction or achievement to team or individual sports as an athlete, coach, journalist, promoter or sports advocate.

Volunteer Community Leadership – Peggy Carr

This award is given to that individual whose generous gift of self has enriched the community.

Jubilee History Maker – David O. Brown, Former Dallas Police Chief

Created in 1991 and given in recognition of Jubilee Dallas!, this award recognizes an individual whose achievements extend to more than one of the award categories.  


Tickets for the 36th annual Awards for Excellence Luncheon begin at $125, with table sales/underwriting levels beginning at $1000. For more information or to purchase a ticket or sponsorship, visit or contact Nora Lenhart, 214-421-4500 ext. 106 or



Recognize 4511 Views