Jacqui Nickell
Pin on Pinterest

February 9, 2023

The Middle School girls basketball team is back-to-back undefeated district champions! Last year, the Warriors completed the regular season undefeated and swept through the district tournament capturing the tournament MVP award, all-district awards, and the district championship. The Warriors were led by 
Cece DegeyterClio ByrdDalia RanenSierra Salazar, and Miyu Nagumo. The Warriors knew they were returning a good team to compete in the 2022-2023 campaign. 

The girls earned the number one seed and a first-round bye heading into the district tournament on Monday evening, placing them in the semi-finals vs Rockwall Heritage. Rockwall Heritage, coming off of a five-game winning streak, battled the Warriors in a defensive-driven game. Mara Hall led the Warriors in scoring with 7 of the total 15 points scored. Dahlia Ranen scored 6 and Harper York chipped in 2. The Warriors came out on top 15-11 propelling them to the championship game vs Akiba-Yavneh on Tuesday evening.

“The girls were excited and ready to battle Akiba-Yavenh,” said Head Coach Jairus Mitchell. The Warriors came out attacking offensively and dominated on the defensive end. The Warriors shut down the Bulldogs of Akiba-Yavneh to seal the victory in the fourth quarter giving up only 2 points. The final for the championship game was 31-19 in favor of the Warriors. Mara dominated under the basket with 11 points and added several blocks and rebounds to her stat line. Dalia was the leading scorer for the evening finishing with 15 points, scoring 7 in the 4th quarter. Bree Becker led the Warriors defense and Harper stepped up to play in the post adding several steals, blocked shots, and assists.

“The girls played with such intensity throughout the season,” said Coach Mitchell. “Each and every time our girls were tested, they stepped up to the challenge.”

Congratulations to Coach Mitchell, Coach Morrison, and the Middle School girls basketball team!


2022-23 Lakehill Warrior Middle School Girls Basketball Roster

Bree Becker

Maliya Johnson

Willa Parr

Grace Rabon

Dahlia Ranen - All-Tournament Team

Elle Robinson

Maya Scheinrock

Harper York - All-Tournament Team

Rygel Farr

Mara Hall - District MVP

Anniston Barrett

Sofia Valencia

Lena Golden

Sana Nayeb

Trinity Nance

Reese Coffee

- Contact Jacqui at  
Recognize 806 Views