Pin on Pinterest

Austin, TX - Dallas United Crew (DUC) took to the waters of Lady Bird Lake in Austin for their first regatta of the 2023 Sprint Season. Winter training focused on building strength through cardio and weight training. Along with skills training in small boats, this focus paid off as Dallas United Crew medaled in nine events, earning eleven team medals for sixty-eight individual awards.

With ninety-five athletes competing in thirty-eight entries, DUC’s contingent ranked third in size. DUC sent the most athletes from North Texas, overtaken only by the host club, Austin Rowing Club, and Texas Rowing Center. Houston-area clubs, Rowing Club of the Woodlands and Parati Competitive Rowing, rounded out the top five, emphasizing the state-wide appeal of the sport. 

Founded in 1983, the Heart of Texas Regatta, a USRowing Regatta, has grown to include Masters, Open and Junior events across two days of racing. Held on a seven lane, fully-buoyed, 1,000-meter course with a state-of-the-art starting platform, this regatta sees over 800 entries with 1,500+ competitors annually. Races spanned the weekend of February 25th and 26th.

Drawing from twenty-eight area high schools, Dallas United Crew offers youth rowing at White Rock Lake in partnership with the City of Dallas and the Dallas Parks and Recreation Department. With thirty-five USRowing Central Region Titles and seventy athletes recruited to NCAA or IRA Division 1 rowing teams, DUC’s competitive high school team is known as a regional powerhouse. 

Now registering, DUC’s middle school program fuels the team's success, introducing boys and girls in grades seven and up to the sport of rowing. Learn more at




  • M1V4+:  Ty Kornan, Raul Gupta, Jack Halverson, Daniel Sneed, Ryan Brown (cox)

  • M2V8+: Jack Craycroft, Jack Haney, Coleman Hayes, Alexander Musico, Mauro Quiroga, Owen Frazer, Josh Lando, Clark Hobbs, Ryan Brown (cox)

  • MU174+: Henry Thompson, Julian Balestri, John Bunge, Theo Statiras, Tyler Koo (cox) 


  • M1V8+: Luke Blankenship, Raul Gupta, Ty Kornan, Jack Davis, Jack Halverson, Daniel Sneed, Cole Farley, Matthew Slear, Jeff Kang (cox)

  • W2V8+: Adhya Lagisetty, Hannah Birdwell, Rai Jones, Ella Spillman, Mary Isabel Hall, Derin Guven, Diana Farnsworth , Julia Blewett, Lisette Viguerie, Brooklyn De La Torre (cox)

  • W2-: Silver: Sierra Ross, Oliva Till 

  • MU178+: Yiyoung Liu, Luke Bodwell, Louis Hixon, David Guo, Henry Thompson, Jullian Balestri, John Bunge, Theo Statiras, Tyler Koo (cox)

  • WU174+: Mimi Tafel, Lisette Viguerie, Julia Blewett, Hannah Birdwell, Erin Yuan (cox)


  • M1V4+:  Luke Blankenship, Jack Davis, Cole Farley, Matthew Slear, Jeff Kang (cox)

  • MU174+: Yiyoung Liu, Luke Bodwell, Eddie Holland, Bryan Pletcher,  Leo Schnabel (cox)

  • WNov4+: Riya Venkatesh (cox), Yaya Lagiestty, Madelyn Vela, Mary Isabel Hall, Ella Spillman

Recognize 3305 Views