Bishop Lynch High School
Pin on Pinterest

The Bishop Lynch High School wrestling team celebrated a successful 2015-16 campaign on March 20 during a banquet hosted by the Parsons family.

Many wrestlers received special recognition for their efforts during a season that put the BL program back in the spotlight.

The event began with the awarding of varsity letters to the following team members (weight class included): Williams Parsons (106), Judd Pankey (113), Michael Parsons (120), Marcel Vaudry (120), Max Mills (126), Zach Mazur (132), Henry Roden (138), Andrew Stuart (145), Matthew Regner (145), Nick Howe (152), Tristan Holobowicz (152), Anton Broden (160), Paul Davis (160), Ajack Ajack (170), Aaron Santiesteban (170), Greg Martinez (182), Michael Metry (195), Tristen Rubio (220), Charlie Stalder (220) and Juac Angoi (285).

Five wrestlers were also recognized for their All-State status earned during the TAPPS State Wrestling Championships. They are: Martinez (1st), Mills (2nd), Metry (2nd), Stadler (2nd) and Santiesteban (3rd).

Metry also won a state title at the prep state meet, which includes a combination of TAPPS and SPC schools. Martinez was 3rd while Mills and Pankey finished 4th at prep state.

For the first time in several years, Bishop Lynch also sent three wrestlers — Martinez, Metry and Mills — to the National Prep Championships in Bethlehem, PA.

Most Improved awards were given to Ian Greenberg (rookie) and Roden (veteran). Best Match awards were presented to Broden (rookie) and Stalder (veteran). Top Rookie awards were presented to Angoi and Holobowicz.

Most Outstanding awards were won by Williams Parsons (rookie) and Martinez (veteran).

The Coach's Award of Excellence, given to the rookie and veteran displaying top notch work ethic, discipline, heart and commitment, were presented to Regner (rookie) and shared by veterans Mills and Metry.

Finally, the team recognized manager Molly Vaudry for all of her hard work during the season and thanked an outstanding coaching staff that includes Tom Trautman, Bryan Ashford and JJ Koch.

Recognize 3107 Views
Related Posts